Got the ‘itch’

Travel, it’s my thing. My own personal reminder that I’m not trapped in a 9-5, picket-fenced life. Yet somehow I’ve discovered that no matter whether my expedition is for a weekend, or 3-months-long, towards the end – I start to itch.

No, not literally. When I know that I need to commit to something for a set period of time – my emotions generally follow, but by the time my voyage is almost over, I subconsciously start to withdraw from my surroundings and begin preparing mentally for journey home.

So I’ve been waiting for a long time for a promise that God made me. It’s been more years than I ever knew I could be patient for, but now as it draws to its close, just like at the end of a tour, I’ve begun to detach from my current reality – knowing that a new one is just around the corner.

Usually, I’m returning home (wherever that may be at the time), which as an introvert, is great as most times this means solitude. But what happens when it’s not about geography?

I believe I’ve begun to disengage from a state of mind.

I’ve allowed myself to pull away from the old, to make way for the new, the better, the promise.

But until the time of its fulfilment – I’m in this strange land between living by faith in the spiritual as though what God has spoken over me is actually a reality, and the physical where what I see looks nothing like what I’ve been promised.

..and even though I’ve received like a million confirmations in different forms over several years, every so often, I still doubt, fear and overthink… okay, fine! I overthink more often than not – but still.. when I pause, it’s always the same. A calming wave of reassurance, that sweeps over me – leading, guiding and continuing to call me forward into uncharted lands.

Each new chapter, different from the last – yet equally as terrifying. But terrifying in a great way. A way that guarantees my comfort zone being smashed to pieces yet replaced with immeasurable blessing. The type of blessing that only comes from change.

Travel. It’s still my thing, but I’ve realised that even more so, is walking forward blindly, following a familiar voice, into an unknown future that’s anything but ordinary.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.