Indulge Me

Temptation comes in various forms but what happens when the forbidden is no longer taboo and you now have permission to indulge?

I’ve prided myself in being a disciplined individual. I’ve measured these personal successes by the ways in which I’ve been able to overcome challenges and keep up with strict routines. 

So the concept of indulging, especially in areas of previous restraint feels a little strange. I usually tend to fight the freedom initially by overanalysing it from every angle to ensure that I haven’t heard wrong or missed the mark. 

But this time, I made a conscious effort to cut the internalising phase down to a fraction of the time and spend the rest on celebrating my new found liberation. 

.. and oh, how this has proven sweet.

Growth tends of be uncomfortable as pushing the boundaries of your comfort-zone can be challenging, but occasionally, maturation can take a different form. It can surprise you with someone who isn’t afraid of risking what was, who you can share anything with and who understands the importance of regularly cleaning your fridge.

Keeping my hands open rather than closing them over my blessings has proven fruitful as I continue to allow rather than control and practice the posture of gratitude.

Gratitude not for an imagined future, but for each little moment of healing, sharing, humour and magic.

So what of indulgence then? 

I’ve wasted years overthinking, so perhaps I have some making up to do.

Wish me luck!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.